Welcome to Wetherby Town Council

Jubilee Award

The Council's annual Jubilee Award recognises the achievements of outstanding young people in Wetherby, who are under 20 years of age and who have made an impact, whether nationally, regionally or locally. The award was established in 2012 for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee and can be awarded jointly to a maximum of three special young persons. 

There are many young people of whom we can rightly be proud and it is these young people that we wish to recognise and hope will be nominated each year. It is expected that the young people will show some of the qualities listed below:

  • Bravery and fortitude.
  • Work in the community/home.
  • Adapting to changes in life style.
  • Academic or sporting achievements.
  • Charitable accomplishments.
  • Kindness beyond the call of duty.
  • Ambition to achieve.

The award is a great opportunity for the Council to acknowledge these wonderful young people who do such a lot for the community and, show how proud it is of their achievements.

Nominations for the 2017 award will be considered by a panel with an award ceremony to reveal this year’s winner to be held in Wetherby Town Hall on Wednesday 20th December 2017.

Previous Winners

2016 Award Winner, Niamh Hutton, with Mayor of Wetherby Councillor Norma Harrington

2016 - Niamh Hutton
2015 - Leah & Teiana Vine
2014 - Michael Dopson
2013 - Matt Collinson
2012 - Danny Laycock